A Professor’s Journal

professor at work

 

A extract taken and posted below, is to give an example of note-taking, that is from a professor’s point of view: 

“…It has been my custom for some years to write to myself in a journal, to think things out on paper, sometimes freely associating and improvising, sometimes writing from previously worked out notes and outlines. This journal, however, was not handwritten as usual, but dictated on a tape recorder because I had available to me several excellent secretaries to transcribe the tapes almost immediately. This is something that happens very rarely to a professor. It accounts in part for the unusual amount of manuscript produced.

These notes were bound together in a mimeographed book without editing, addition, subtraction or other change, beyond correction of typographical and grammatical errors. They were further edited for the present book, but this was primarily to pull together scattered memoranda that belong together, to remove some obscenities, to clarify sentences that might be confusing, to fill in references, to make it here and there a little less personal and intimate etc., I have made no effort to correct mistakes, to second-guess anything, to cover up my prejudices, or to appear wiser or more knowledgeable than I was in the summer of 1962. Nor has much been added or subtracted. That would be in direct contradiction to the point of publishing a journal at all.

These notes should be understood primarily as first impressions and first responses, of a theoretical psychologist taking his first look at a new field of knowledge and realizing that that body of knowledge was of great import for various of his theoretical concerns (and vice versa). I have learned from other such experiences that the novice can often see things that the expert overlooks. All that is necessary is not to be afraid of making mistakes, or of appearing naïve.

I have appended my complete bibliography, including re-printings, translations, etc., as much for my own convenience as for the readers’. I want to have it in print someplace so that I can refer to it when I need to…”

REFERENCE:

Maslow, A., (1965), ‘Preface’, Eupsychian Management: A Journal, published by: Richard D. Irwin, Inc and The Dorsey Press, ISBN: 0-87094-056-2, hardback edition.

Related Blog Posting:

A POEM: 58. Professors

Subscribe To My Podcast

Subscribe to this podcast feed
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Image

My Photos

Mavarine Du-Marie

More Photos

Categories

RSS Financial Times newspaper: Management

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times newspaper: Law

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Evening Standard newspaper: Polite society

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times Literary Supplement

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS History & The Arts Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

To Bookmark: