My Writing of Essay Plans

(and the essay that follows…)

 

 

— Its amazing the assumptions that when someone does an essay plan, such as myself, its assumed that its done in the boring way; starting from the top down, ie. intro, main body and conclusion, yeah, and only the unorganised way is somehow exciting or cool. Just saying…

That I myself start the writing in whatever starting point that takes my fancy from within my Essay Plan. A-Ho. big grin

It could be something written within the main body’s sub-headings, or a bit of a intro, and then perhaps an expressive or expletive kinda of ending (erased after second thoughts as recovered from too much wine), but will refer back to the Essay Plan as liken to a directional map and/or an instruction manual for getting it right — eventually.

Whilst I do appreciate that some students ‘work off the cuff’, I prefer variety in cuff-links that comes attached to a body*…

Mav evil 

* being “on [the] pulse” of it all.

— Its always been advised to students that if they had a problem in tying things together, in a discussion essay, is to imagine having to explain it all to a little old lady in a nice cosy chair, and your conversing with her on the topic.

I dunno if this would help in an argument essay but here goes:

Imagine having to argue your points, and you want that very last word on the matter (okay you can use me in the picture, I’m used to it smile), but that person ain’t a push-over neither and is just as good as giving it back, so you’re going [to] have to fight for that last summarised ending.

So I’ll start you off as an imagined opponent – your key point is what?!! angry Grrrr

_______________________________________________________

ADDENDUM:

In my use of ‘Essay Plans’ for my higher education studies,  I basically start off with pen and paper, initially, then as a revised stage of the essay planning, move onto using my computer software program ‘Inspiration version 8 IE’, to thrash out any details and other things I might have missed, but now they’ve gone and given it an upgrade to Inspiration ver. 9 — great, but I’ll be sticking to version 8, its been my trusty-friend and we’ve gotten to know each other.

However, the software package is purely used for planning an essay by me, that is because as a Student it can build graphic organizers, including concept maps, webs, mind maps and idea maps, by using the ‘Inspiration’ software to brainstorm, plan, organize, think, outline and present the work well, and is very simple to use as you aren’t bogged down with anything deemed complex from the user interface, so as not to interrupt the flow of ideas.

Therefore, its a program that I would personally highly recommend.

________________________________________________________

CONCEPT MAPPING THEORY:

CONCEPT MAPPING PRACTICE: 

 

Weblink Info:
The Theory Underlying Concept Maps and How to Construct and Use Them.
Expository Writing.
The Different Structures of Essays.

 

Source: 

posted by Mavarine Du-Marie, on the subject of  the End of Course Assignment ‘Verification Procedure’, at 19:25 on 25th May 2010 and at 08:01 on the 27th May 2010*, on the DD308-09J Making Social World Course, Student (National) Forum, with the Open University.
posted by Mavarine Du-Marie, on the subject of the ‘Help-End of Course Assignment!!!’, at 13:48 on 29th May 2010, on the DD308-09J Making Social World Course, Student (National) Forum, with the Open University.
           
Subscribe To My Podcast

Subscribe to this podcast feed
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Image

My Photos

Categories

RSS Financial Times newspaper: Management

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times newspaper: Law

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Evening Standard newspaper: Polite society

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times Literary Supplement

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS History & The Arts Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

To Bookmark: