Once in a Blue Moon by Dorianne Cole

Once in a blue moon

It all starts somewhere:

“So. How long have you worked for Uncle Sam?”
“I started right after college.”
“Where’d you go to school?”
“Right here, at Morris University. A.B.S. in math and an M.S. in computer science. Where’d you go?”
“Everywhere, nowhere. I started at Harvard, screwed up notoriously, came back home to City University, courtesy of Ed. Tried a year in London. Then out to the West Coast with a friend to major in diving, climbing, and women. And got a computer science degree on the side…”

It all ends up somewhere:

“Thank you, Frank”, she accepted, smiling as she had all day, but suddenly becoming serious. “You’re right, though, it probably was the last time. I’ll be leaving sometime in the spring. Ian is starting a software firm out in Chantilly and we’re going to manage it together.”

Frank’s face clouded over, but he quickly recovered.

“So now Ian’s a puppy dog and a thief! Forgive me, but I’m just feeling a little selfish right now. I couldn’t be happier for both of you, but I’m disappointed for me. I’ll never be able to replace you, you know that.

“Frank, you don’t need to worry. Do the same thing you did six years ago: take your recruitment team to Morris and look for another short girl with thick glasses who’s carrying a load of programming manuals. Just be sure to keep her away from your contractors, though!”

Once in a Blue Moon, by Dorianne Cole, published by Genesis Press Inc., in 2002, ISBN: 158571070-9

Subscribe To My Podcast

Subscribe to this podcast feed
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

My Image

My Photos

Categories

RSS Financial Times newspaper: Management

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times newspaper: Law

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Evening Standard newspaper: Polite society

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times Literary Supplement

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS History & The Arts Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

To Bookmark: