The Professor by Charlotte Brontë

“…I, in a few weeks, conquered the teasing diffculities inseparable from the commencement of almost every career.  Ere long I had acquired as much facility in speaking French as set me at my ease with my pupils; and as I had encountered them on a right footing at the very beginning, and continued tenaciously to retain the advantage I had early gained, they never attempted mutiny, which circumstance, all who are in any degree acquainted with the ongoings of Belgian schools, and who know the relation in which professors and pupils too frequently stand towards each other in those establishments, will consider an important and uncommon one…”

The Professor, by Charlotte Brontë, published by Penguin Books in 1995, ISBN: 0140621423

Subscribe To My Podcast

Subscribe to this podcast feed
December 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Image

My Photos

Mavarine Du-Marie

More Photos

Categories

RSS Financial Times newspaper: Management

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times newspaper: Law

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Evening Standard newspaper: Polite society

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times Literary Supplement

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS History & The Arts Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

To Bookmark: