Set Book Reading

Currently, just in case I catch myself reading this entry to my blog, I’m supposed to be reading one of the set books for the course starting next year. And the set books puts me in the right frame of mind for when the course actually begins, as said better:

“…I practise silence, that the verses of my readings and prayers should fill me with delight. And when the pleasures of understanding them silences my tongue, then, as in a dream, I enter a state when my senses and thoughts are concentrated. Then, when with prolonging of this silence the turmoil of memories is stilled in my heart, ceaseless waves of joy are sent me by inner thoughts, beyond expectation suddenly arising to delight my heart…” as was spoken by St Isaac of Syria enthusing about silent reading in the 6th century. (Fischer, 2003, p.159)

Yes, its slow going, reading them set books for the course, but I’m a studious student, so I will continue until I’ve finished it, as I always think its important to get to grasps with at least one of the set books, that is set for students, most throughly, as it comes in handy when revising for the exam later on in the course.

Thereat, the rest of the set books or material one happens to find along the way can then be regarded as a boon read, if one has the time, or as the reviewer says at the back of the book A History of Reading, “…readers speak for themselves, ceaselessly seduced by textual magic…”, well, I did say I’d try to be whimsical, it was an attempt at least, give me some credit here!!

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

24077

Title: Reading
Artist: Poynter, Sir Edward John (1836-1919)

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

<…as I try to find whencesoever I was in my reading, that is because, I left the bookmarker in the page, but not on paragraph, or sentence of the last word read…>

REFERENCE:  Steven Roger Fischer, (2003), The Parchment Eye, A History of Reading, published by Reaktion Books Ltd, p.159

WEBLINK RESOURCE: Open University Book Search

Subscribe To My Podcast

Subscribe to this podcast feed
December 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Image

My Photos

Mavarine Du-Marie

More Photos

Categories

RSS Financial Times newspaper: Management

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times newspaper: Law

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Evening Standard newspaper: Polite society

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times Literary Supplement

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS History & The Arts Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

To Bookmark: