Any idea what a ‘reasonable’ word count for an exam?

It was said on the AA305 forum: “This is probably a silly question but does anyone have any idea what a ‘reasonable’ word count would be for an answer in this exam?”

I wrote back the reply:

I’ve never worried on this, for I’ve never been told by a tutor and never seen any guidance notes from the OU on: ‘word count for exams’ either. Personally, I wrote and write to answer the questions only.

This means some answers maybe short because I think I’ve covered enough of the subject to be succinct, and have made good points in my argument, for example a question on poetry maybe answered this short for there is only so much one can write about it, when the poem ends so would your writing about it with a conclusion, and some answers are long because it may have covered more than one theme from the subject we’ve studied, particularly when the question asks for discussion or extent, for example a question on science and its impact on the courts in Europe.

What’s not on my mind is a word count!!! (never mind having to contend with the words too, my handwriting is bad enough.)

 

Subscribe To My Podcast

Subscribe to this podcast feed
December 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Image

My Photos

Categories

RSS Financial Times newspaper: Management

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times newspaper: Law

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Art Newspaper

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Evening Standard newspaper: Polite society

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Times Literary Supplement

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS History & The Arts Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

To Bookmark: